events about about NOISE archive support

January 6-8, 2022
7:30 p.m. each night

The Athenaeum Music & Arts Library, La Jolla, CA
1008 Wall St., La Jolla, CA

San Diego New Music presents the return of the soundON Festival and ensemble-in-residence NOISE

Lisa Cella, flute
Franklin Cox, cello
Colin McAllister, guitar, electric guitar, and conductor
Christopher Adler, piano and khaen
Robert Zelickman, conductor

and special guest artists

Russ Callison, guitar
Derek Keller, countertenor
Bernadette Rose Mondok Keller, soprano
Ryan Nestor, percussion
Annabelle Terbetski, viola

San Diego New Music and the Athenaeum Music & Arts Library present the return of the soundON Festival (formerly known as the soundON Festival of Modern Music), featuring our ensemble-in-residence, NOISE, coming together once agan after the long haitus of the pandemic. The members of NOISE have curated a festival exploring the surreality of the gradual return to 'normalcy' and the irreversible perspective of a world transformed and that will never be 'normal' again. The eclectic and international collection of works embrace imperfection, liminality, chimeric adaptations, tension, and the cautious return to the illuminated beauty of the world welcoming us back. The program features winning selections from the pandemic-delayed 2020 Call for Scores, as well as the world premiere of a new work by Franklin Cox.

Download the Concert Program (PDF)

Thursday, January 6, 7:30 p.m.

Mikel Kuehn, Chimera
Jinhee Han, Paysage on Danube
Stuart Saunders Smith, Here's the Sun
Matthew Burtner, Broken Drum
Uri Kochavi, Obsessive Compulsive [dis] Order **

Friday, January 7, 7:30 p.m.

Luke Schulze, Racines
Will Brobston, Bardo
Christian Carey, In nomine * world premiere
Peter Hager, A Seasonal Rain
Derek Keller, Rapt * world premiere

Saturday, January 8, 7:30 p.m.

João Pedro Oliveira, Tension-deformation **
Anthony Tan, Revealing the Divide
Lansing McLoskey, This Will Not Be Loud and Relentless, ii. This Will Not Be Loud **
Christopher Adler, Tempus Imperfectum
Amy Williams, Cineshape I
Franklin Cox, Reflect for flute and cello * world premiere

** winning selections from the 2020 soundON Call for Scores


Purchase tickets on the Athenaeum's website

Festival passes: $75 General Admission / $60 Athenaeum Members / $25 Students
Single night: $27 General Admission / $22 Athenaeum Members / $10 Students


Sign up to receive news and events by e-mail

* required



Email & Social Media Marketing by VerticalResponse