events about about NOISE archive support

soundON: Thresholds

soundON Festival of Modern Music: Thresholds
curated by Colin McAllister

January 9-12, 2020
The Athenaeum Music & Arts Library
1008 Wall St, La Jolla, CA

In the Confessions, St. Augustine wrote about the distentio animi, the distension of the mind that refers to its stretching out in relation to past and future, a three-fold present known in memory, attention, and expectation. This is an analogue to what musicians would call “performative time,” or perhaps, what Gabriel Motzkin calls “abnormal time,” a transcendent state that can be experienced only at those rare moments when the normal, everyday world loses its meaning, thus making this kind of time more authentic. The 13th edition of the soundON Festival of Modern Music explores these rarified states, these journeys to thresholds of space, time, memory and perception.

This year we welcome five visiting composers: Anthony Tan (who will also perform his aptly titled Endlessnessnessness for solo piano and live electroncs), Lukas Schulze (with a new work for two guitars), Stuart Saunders Smith (premieres of solo works for flute and guitar), Vera Ivanova and Derek Keller (who also performs as a guitarist and countertenor). We celebrate Mark Osborn and Nathan Brock, two old friends who have gone beyond the threshold into eternity, but whose life and music continue to resound with us. We will explore the work of Argentinian-Uruguayan composer Graciela Paraskevaídis, in whose compositions “the basic coordinates of every musical occurrence—time and silence—are experienced as sanctuaries of solidarity and resistance, and are as well an origin of an intense hope.” Saturday evening’s concert features two large ensemble works, Alberto Posadas’s Tres pinturas imaginarias, and Gerard Grisey’s monumental Vortex Temporum, which explores “three gestalt sounds, three spectra, and three archetypes of time.”

Thank you to our Friends of soundON Julia S. Falk, Ph.D., Drs. Sally and Einar Gall, Christian Hertzog and Susan Dorin, Garna Muller, Catherine and Robert Palmer, Erika and Fred Torri, Eric Starr and Sarah Skuster, and to the Athenaeum Music & Arts Library for their continued support, to Ann Craig and Garna Muller, to San Diego State University for providing rehearsal space and instruments, and to the University of San Diego for providing audio equipment.

Colin McAllister, guitar and conductor
Lisa Cella, flute
Mark Menzies, violin
Franklin Cox, cello
Morris Palter, percussion 
Robert Zelickman, clarinet
Christopher Adler, piano


Derek Keller, composer, voice
Matt Kline, bass
Travis Maril, viola
Todd Rewoldt, saxophone
David Savage, bassoon
Anthony Tan, composer, piano
Jane Zwerneman, horn

Thursday, January 9, 7:30 p.m.
... on the edge of forever ...

Graciela Paraskevaídis, Sin ir mas lejos
Anthony Tan, Endlessnessnessness
Mark Osborn, Sleep in the Shape of My Body
Glenda Keam, Rimmer in Space
John Rimmer, Adieu KS
Stuart Saunders Smith, Giants ** world premiere
Student composer commissioned work by Diego Rodriguez (UCSD)
Nathan Brock, Cenotaph
Salina Fisher, Komorebi

Saturday, January 11, 7:30 p.m.
liminal space and the archetypes of time

Alberto Posadas, Tres pinturas imaginarias
Stuart Saunders Smith, Peace ** world premiere
Gerard Grisey, Vortex Temporum

Sunday, January 12, 2:00 p.m.
... the edge of perception ...

Derek Keller, Three Pieces for Piano
Student composer commissioned work by Ezekiel Mortensen (Palomar College)
Mark Menzies, 18
Anthony Tan, On the Sensations of Tone II
Vera Ivanova, Aura
Luke Schulze, Racines ** world premiere
Graciela Paraskevaídis, Libres en el sonido presos en el sonido


Festival passes: $70 General Admission / $55 Athenaeum Members / $15 Students
Single night: $25 General Admission / $20 Athenaeum Members / $5 Students

Purchase tickets here (links to the Athenaeum Music & Arts Library site)


Sign up to receive news and events by e-mail

* required



Email & Social Media Marketing by VerticalResponse