events about about NOISE archive support

soundON 2016, artwork by

The 2017 soundON Festival of Modern Music: SOUNDSTREAMS AND RISING CURRENTS
The 10th anniversary of the soundON Festival!

January 5-8, 2017

The Athenaeum Music & Arts Library
1008 Wall St, La Jolla, CA


San Diego New Music celebrates the tenth anniversary of our soundON Festival of Modern Music with a program curated by NOISE percussionist Morris Palter. Soundsreams features works awash of aural awarenesses, by many current and former San Diego composers, including Benjamin Sabey, former San Diego New Music Executive Director Nathan Brock, NOISE cellist Franklin Cox, and works by New Zealand composer Chris Cree Brown, French composer Betsy Jolas, and American maverick James Tenney. Evocative of sonic panoramas, these works are foundational in their motive, yet sweeping in their inference.

Rising Currents I & II feature established and newly established composers. While individually creative in their compositional explorations, collectively they represent composers who derive their strength from dynamic internal forces that connect them intimately to their immediate surroundings, be they natural, urban, cultural, or otherwise. We will be joined by guest composers Benjamin Sabey and Kari Besharse, and feature a new work by Matthew Burtner commissioned by the Athenaeum Music & Arts Library in conjuction with an installation to be presented during the festival.

We are also featuring the new CD "Full Circle: NOISE Plays the Music of Stuart Saunders Smith" to be released in 2017!

The soundON Festival of Modern Music is underwritten by a generous donation from Garna Muller and is supported by a grant from the Ellen Browning Scripps Foundation
Housing for artists is generously provided by Ann Craig and Garna Muller

Lisa Cella, flute
Colin McAllister, guitar and conductor
Mark Menzies, violin
Franklin Cox, cello
Morris Palter, percussion
Robert Zelickman, clarinet
Christopher Adler, piano

Stephanie Aston, soprano
Kyle Adam Blair, piano
Fiona Digney, percussion
Sean Dowgray, percussion
Michael Matsuno, flute

Thursday, January 5th—7:30pm

Benjamin Sabey, Winter Shore *
James Tenney, Spectrum 6
Betsy Jolas, Etudes Apercues
Barbara Monk Feldman, The Chaco Wilderness
Chris Cree Brown, faultlines
Daniele Venturi, Arlia
Franklin Cox, Shattered *

January 6-7: times and locations TBA
Educational workshops - TBA

January 7—12pm
Performance Workshop Concert

January 7—details TBA
Matthew Burtner art installation

Saturday, January 7th—7:30pm
Rising Currents I

James Romig, Small Worlds
Jordan Nobles, Simulacrum
Linda Catlin Smith, Morning Glory
Andrew Staniland, the river is within us
Matthew Burtner, Festival of Whispers**

Sunday, January 8th—2pm
Rising Currents II

Nathan Brock, Entre la sombra y al elma *
Kari Besharse, Black Grey Red Orange Grey Blue Grey
Mark Applebaum, Catfish
Doina Rotaru, Uroboros
Benjamin Sabey, Temple Swallows
Mark Menzies, World Belt: Kotare C5

* world premiere
**world premiere, commissioned by the Athenaeum Music & Arts Library


All-festival passes: $70 general / $55 Athenaeum members, seniors
Individual concerts: $25 general / $20 Athenaeum members, seniors / $5 students




Sign up to receive news and events by e-mail

* required



Email & Social Media Marketing by VerticalResponse

San Diego New Music
PMB 316
9700 Gilman Drive
La Jolla, CA 92093-5010